Synthetic Scales - Part XXIII

This week we are going to look at the modes derived from the Chromatic Hypolydian scale. The Chromatic Hypolydian scale is also known as the Purvi scale that is derived from an Indian Raga.

Check out the rest of the Synthetic Scales Series as well.

This new scale is called the Chromatic Hypophrygian scale and is a Mode. It is the 2nd mode of the Chromatic Hypolydian Scale.

If we continue this exercise (starting from each note) we can complete the following table for all the modes of the Chromatic Hypolydian scale.

So there you have it, all 7 modes of the Chromatic Hypolydian scale, and you can play them in any key, just start on the note you want and play the correct intervals!!

As always, have a go at playing the scales yourself, it always helps to get the sounds of each in your head and your fingers!!

Until next week, have fun!!

-Duncan Richardson - MU Columnist

Duncan's Website
Duncan on Facebook
Duncan on Twitter

Register for Musicians Unite for FREE Today & Receive Your FREE LIFETIME MEMBERSHIP!!

Register to Win over $1000 in Prizes!

Leave a Comment

Copyright © 2019 :: All Rights Reserved :: MusiciansUnite.com :: About MU :: Terms of Use :: Contact Us